OU Law Holds Calvert Moot Court Competition

October 30, 2015 | By Mackenzie Dilbeck, Director of Communications

This week, 40 OU Law students participated in the Calvert Moot Court Competition. Competitors included 2L and 3L students who researched a case currently before the Supreme Court (Kansas v. Carr) and presented oral arguments before tournament judges. The annual competition is sponsored by the OU Law Board of Advocates and the Floyd and Irma Calvert Fund for Law and Liberty. The Competition stretched throughout the week and took place in various court rooms, conference rooms and classrooms in the OU Law Center. 

Congratulations to this year’s winners, Xavier Avery and Ruthie Stevens (both 3Ls)! A complete list of the final round participants is below. Congratulations also to Ryan Hunnicutt (2L) for being awarded the title of Best Individual Speaker.

OU Law extends a special thanks to the following final round judges:
The Honorable David Russell, U.S. District Ct., Western District of Oklahoma
The Honorable Brian Goree, Oklahoma Court of Civil Appeals
The Honorable William Hetherington, Oklahoma Court of Civil Appeals
The Honorable David Lewis, Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals
The Honorable Charles Johnson, Oklahoma Court of Civil Appeals (retired)
The Honorable Wayne Alley, U.S. District Ct., Western District of Oklahoma (retired); Jurist in Residence, University of Oklahoma College of Law
OU Law Dean Joseph Harroz Jr.
OU Law Professor Rick Tepker
OU Law Professor Maria Kolar

Final Round Participants:

1st Place:     Xavier Avery
                    Ruthie Stevens

2nd Place:    Audrey Roth
                    Lindsey Tanner

Thank you for your interest in applying to OU Law

Please select your program of interest to learn more about the application process.

J.D. ProgramM.L.S. ProgramLL.M. ProgramLegal Assistant Education Not sure? Learn more about admissions at OU Law