Professors Owen Anderson and Taiawagi Helton Receive OU Faculty Awards

May 10, 2012

NORMAN – University of Oklahoma College of Law Professors Owen Anderson and Taiawagi Helton were recognized at the Faculty Tribute, a university-wide faculty awards ceremony, on April 5.

Anderson was named a George Lynn Cross Research Professor, the highest research honor that a faculty member may receive from OU. To qualify for a George Lynn Cross Research Professorship, a faculty member must have demonstrated outstanding leadership over a period of years in his or her field of learning or creative activity and have been recognized by peers for distinguished contributions to knowledge or distinguished creative work.

“OU Law is one of the great public law schools in the nation with outstanding faculty,” OU Law Dean Joe Harroz said. “With extensive international experience and accolades, Professor Anderson was selected from 1,500 OU faculty members to receive the George Lynn Cross Research Professorship. This award puts Professor Anderson among the ranks of Fred Miller, Frank Elkouri, Eugene Kuntz and Maurice Merrill – four of the legendary OU Law faculty members who previously received this prestigious award.”

Helton received the Regents’ Award for Superior Teaching, which was established in 1963. These awards recognize superior accomplishment specific areas such as teaching, research, creative activity and professional and university service.

“Professor Helton has helped shape our Native American law program into one of the top programs in the country,” Harroz said. “His work both inside and outside of the classroom makes him an exceptional teacher. We couldn’t be more proud of Professor Helton and Professor Anderson.”

Anderson is the Eugene Kuntz Chair of Law in Oil, Gas and Natural Resources and Director of the John B. Turner LL.M. Program in Energy, Natural Resources & Indigenous Peoples Law at OU Law. He teaches various oil and gas law courses at OU, including international petroleum transactions. He also regularly teaches at the University of Texas and at other universities on six continents. In 2011, he received the Clyde O. Martz Award for Excellence in Teaching from the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation. Anderson has authored numerous articles on oil and gas law and serves on the board of editors for the Oil and Gas Reporter and the Texas Title Standards.

Helton joined the faculty in 2001 and teaches environmental law, property, Native American natural resources and Indian law. He is a faculty director for the Center for the Study of American Indian Law and Policy.  His research emphasizes environmental and natural resources issues relating to Native Americans, as well as nation building in Indian country. He has served as a Special Justice for the Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes Supreme Court (2004-2008) and as a member of the Board of Directors of Oklahoma Indian Legal Services.

Thank you for your interest in applying to OU Law

Please select your program of interest to learn more about the application process.

J.D. ProgramM.L.S. ProgramLL.M. ProgramLegal Assistant Education Not sure? Learn more about admissions at OU Law